A new year…a new challenge!

So I have seen a few groups on Facebook encouraging ‘a stitch a day’ and as much as I love my English Paper Piecing, hand stitching will remain my first love. So,inspired by this, I have joined the group ‘1 year in stitches:2017’. 

Cross stitch was the first stitch I learnt (aged 7!) and for many, many years I found respite in cross stitch. It enabled me to feel creative whilst also feeling held and secure through following the structure of a specified pattern. It allowed me to get lost in the continuous rhythm of simply going up and down to form a repetitive cross. It also allowed me to feel constructive during times of passivity. So I felt a cross stitch was the perfect stitch for starting this new year’s challenge!! I chose the colour green after seeing it is the Pantone colour of the year 2017 (plus I am also biased as it is my favourite colour!)

So for January 1st I did a small row of cross stitches on linen:

For January 2nd I did a straight stitch over each cross: 

 I am excited to see how it progresses but don’t worry, it won’t be daily updates!

I hope you all had a lovely new year!

N x

3 thoughts on “A new year…a new challenge!

Leave a Reply

