beginning to feel Christmassy…

Another busy month – especially with being back at uni! So I needed a welcome distraction from reading about the philosophy of social science research and what better distraction then Christmas?! I’ve been amassing Christmas fabric but haven’t actually made anything with it so I decided to crack out my pens, papers, and English Paper Piecing (EPP) templates!

I’d bought some 2 inch EPP octagons months ago with no particular project in mind. Then, in a burst of festiveness, I decided to try them out with some new Christmas fabric that I had bought from Make and Do (photo 1)!

 http://www.mymakeanddo.co.uk/ourshop/prod_4040051-Treelicious-by-Maude-Asbury-for-Blend-Red-Orange.html

This Christmas fabric lended itself beautifully to being teamed up with the Flurry Dots range by Dashwood Studio (photo 2). 

So I quickly sketched out the order of octagons I wanted for each strip (photo 3) and the fabrics I was going to use (photo 4). Then, I started to sew strips of these octagons together with a total of 9 octagons per strip. 

 

Then, when I had drawn out and made the 7 strips, I could see there were square-shaped gaps between these joined octagons! Luckily, I happened to have the right size squares (2 inch) in my EPP template stash (and it was definitely more luck than forward planning!)

So, I returned to my sketched ‘plan’ and mapped out which fabric squares would go inbetween each strip.

 When the octagon strips were joined with those squares inbetween, all that was left was to fill in those gaps around the edges!
These needed 2″ EPP Half-Square Triangles (which, again, I luckily had in my EPP template stash)! I was a bit unsure what fabric to use for this bit but after a trip with a sewing friend to a Doughty’s roadshow I found the perfect fabric! It’s called ‘Cool Yule Snowflake’ by The Henley Studio, Makower UK.

All that was left was to fill in each of the four corners. To do this I cut a 2″ EPP Half-Square Triangle in half and this was the perfect shape.And voila! My first EPP Christmas Quilt laid out ready to quilt.

Then, through one of my late night Pinterest surfing sessions, I found a really similar design known as a snowball quilt! What an apt name eh?! If I’d only found that before I’d started my own EPP Christmas quilt!

Hope your October has gone well. I’m off to machine quilt this piece and handsew the binding – I’ll share the finished photo next month! See you soon 🙂

N x

Ps. My September block (albeit late). It is INCREDIBLY wonky but I still like the colours!! Just need a bit (or a lot…) more practice matching my seams…! 

Pps. My October block! Much straighter seams with this one! 

Leave a Reply

