Sewing in Amsterdam

It’s beginning to sound like I am a little jet setter! I’m really not – I’ve just been lucky to have these opportunities towards the end of term when the uni workload is lighter!
I arrived in Amsterdam with my Mum 2 days ago and I have fallen in love with this city all over again!

image

Everywhere is just beautiful, the buildings are stunning and the people are friendly! As well as having been to the Van Gogh Museum yesterday and the Anne Frank House today we have also found some knitting/quilting/bead shops!!
We first went to De Afstap (12 Oude Leliestraat) which had a range of wools and threads and an even greater range of books and patterns. It isn’t cheap but it is definitely worth a visit just because of all the gorgeous things that they sell! I was tempted to buy lots of gorgeous wool but I had to keep reminding myself I don’t actually knit often! Maybe one day….

image

Afterwards we went to Birdblocks (99 Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal). Now this shop is fantastic! A wide range of fabrics, threads, needles, patterns and an absolute must-visit! The lady who served us was really friendly too and that makes all the difference!

image

I bought a pink fat quarter for my special 2016 quilt (which I will blog about next month) by Darlene Zimmerman for Robert Kaufman:

image

They also had a range of fabrics from the Kaffe Fassett collective and whilst they weren’t cheap I just couldn’t resist!

image

Then right next door to Birdblocks is Den Haan & Wagenmakers B.V. (95 Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal). Again, this place was beautiful and the lady was very friendly.

image

They had such a beautiful range of Dutch Heritage fabrics and I couldn’t resist these two for my 2016 quilt:

image

Then after a long day of walking (and shopping) we passed Copenhagen Kralen Beads (54 Rozengracht):

image

Thousands of beads that have been meticulously colour coordinated and ordered in jars that line every wall in the shop!
Now we have arrived back (or rather collapsed back) at our Air bnb apartment (an apartment which is up 68 stairs and a mean feat in itself!)
Time for a well-earned cold drink I think!
Speak soon.
N xx

Leave a Reply

