July – New York Stripey Quilt

Happy July!! It was my birthday yesterday and I was treated to lots of new, yummy fabric so I am feeling like one very lucky girl!! I am also on the home stretch of my dissertation with only the final draft left to do. It’s coming together nicely so I treated myself to a day of sewing whilst watching Wimbledon!! Using the fabrics I bought during my trip to NYC last month I played around with triangles until I reached this design:

image

I am really pleased with this and it is made using 1/4 yard of 9 different fabrics all bought from The City Quilter in NYC.
Ps. If following the pattern you might want to grab a pencil and paper to help with labels and keeping track of the order they go in!

The pattern:
I used the sizzix bigz die for a triangle
measuring 4 5/8inch (height) by 8 1/2inch (width) but it is probably much easier just to cut them!
Fabric A: cut 7 triangles –

image

Fabric B: cut 7 triangles –

image

Fabric C: cut 9 triangles –

image

Fabric D: cut 12 triangles –

image

Fabric E: cut 12 triangles –

image

Fabric F: cut 12 triangles –

image

Fabric G: cut 12 triangles –

image

Fabric H: cut 12 triangles –

image

Fabric I: cut 12 triangles –

image

Then make the following pairs from the triangles to form squares:

Pair 1 D with 1 A to make 1 square = A1

image

Pair 1 A with 1 F 5 times to make a total of 5 squares = A2

image

Pair 1 F with 1 B 3 times to make a total of 3 squares = A3

image

Pair 1 B with 1 G 4 times to make a total of 4 squares = A4

image

Pair 1 G with 1 D 5 times to make a total of 5 squares = A5

image

Pair 1 D with 1 E 6 times to make a total of 6 squares = A6

image

Pair 1 E with 1 I 6 times to make a total of 6 squares = A7

image

Pair 1 I with 1 H 6 times to make a total of 6 squares = A8

image

Pair 1 H with 1 C 5 times to make a total of 5 squares = A9

image

Pair 1 C with 1 F 4 times to make a total of 4 squares = A10

image

Pair 1 A with 1 G 2 times to make a total of 2 squares = A11

image

Pair 1 G with 1 H to make 1 square = A12

image

Then I joined these squares together to make rows (a total of 8).
So in row 1, from top to bottom, join the squares in the following order: A8, A9, A10, A2, A11, A12:

image

In row 2, from top to bottom, join the squares in the following order: A7, A8, A9, A10, A2, A11:

image

In row 3, from top to bottom, join the squares in the following order: A6, A7, A8, A9, A10 and A2:

image

In row 4, from top to bottom, join the squares in the following order: A5, A6, A7, A8, A9, A10:

image

In row 5, from top to bottom, join thesquares in the following order: A4, A5, A6, A7, A8, A9:

image

In row 6, from top to bottom, join the squares in the following order: A3, A4, A5, A6, A7, A8:

image

In row 7, from top to bottom, join the squares in the following order: A2 (rotated 180 degrees – see photo below), A3, A4, A5, A6, A7:

image

image

In row 8, from top to bottom, join the squares in the following order: A1, A2 (with the 180 degree rotation as in row 7), A3, A4, A5, A6:

image

Then join these rows together starting with row 1 on the far left through to row 8 on the far right:

image

Now just the quilting to do!! And I’ve bought myself a walking foot which I am keen to try out so that’ll be my next task! Enjoy the rest of your July! 🙂
N xx
Ps. For the eagle-eyed of you…this is what happens when you don’t double check before cutting your fabric – you end up with the selvedge showing in your quilt!! Oops!

image

Pps. I have made the July block too so I am still going with the NY resolution of learning a new patchwork block each month!! For July I made the ‘Staircases’ block from the Amy Butler 20 Simple Block Designs booklet that came with issue 4 of Love Patchwork and Quilting:

image

Leave a Reply

