May block – tackling quarter square triangles

I’ve finished the literature review and the methodology chapter for my dissertation so I have decided to treat myself to some sewing before I buckle down for the next essay!!
So this month I did a ‘Quarter Square Triangle Nine-Patch Block’ (still using the  Amy Butler 20 Simple Block Designs that came with issue 4 of Love Patchwork and Quilting).

image

I started by cutting out three 5 1/2 inch squares from fabric A and three 5 1/2 inch squares from fabric B.

image

These two fabrics will make the quarter square triangles. I then cut out four 4 1/2 inch squares from fabric C.

image

To make the quarter inch squares I drew a horizontal line along the diagonal of the wrong side of each fabric A square.

image

I then paired it with a fabric B square and (right sides together) I sewed a line 1/4 inch either side of the original drawn horizontal line. Once sewn, I cut down the original horizontal line.

image

Then I opened these and pressed them.

image

Then, I placed two of these new square units right sides together with fabric A being placed on top of fabric B etc. I then repeated the process of drawing a new horizontal line and then sewing a line 1/4 either side of the horizontal line (hopefully the photos will make it seem more understandable!)

image

Once sewn, I cut along that second horizontal line, opened them and pressed them.

image

And hey presto! Quarter square triangles!

image

Then, I trimmed these quarter square triangles to 4 1/2 inch squares.
Next, I made three rows combining the quarter square triangles and fabric C.
Row 1 = quarter square triangle, fabric C, quarter square triangle.
Row 2 = fabric C, quarter square triangle, fabric C.
Row 3 = quarter square triangle, fabric C, quarter square triangle.

image

Then I joined these rows together to make the final Quarter Square Triangle Nine-Patch Block!

image

I hope you are enjoying May – not long until bank holiday now!!
N xx

2 thoughts on “May block – tackling quarter square triangles

Leave a Reply

