February block

Happy leap year day!! An extra 24 hours this month to get my February block done!! So for this month, I followed a set of instructions for a block design featured in issue 4 of Love Patchwork and Quilting (a great mag!).

image

So, I chose my six fabrics for this block, ironed them and then cut them into strips measuring 1 1/2 inches by 6 1/2 inches:

image

I then made four squares of six strips by joining the strips together making sure that I used the quarter inch foot on my sewing machine:

image

Once I had four squares, I then paired them by joining two squares together, rotating each square by a quarter turn each time. It sounds a lot more complicated than it really is!!

image

When I had two twos, I joined them together to make the final square. I had to double check this join a couple of times to make sure that I got the quarter turn right! ! Once I had joined them all together I had the final big square – the February block! !

image

Now just for a final iron! !
It wasn’t as much fun to do as the pinwheel and when looking at the square as a whole I am not sure about the blue fabric strip…but making mistakes is all part of the learning journey right? !
Enjoy your extra 24 hours whatever you are doing 🙂
N xx

Leave a Reply

